Skip to main content

Jamie Scott, Showpony and Simple the big winners of AADC awards.

30 September 2022

After a full day of sold-out marketing seminars, the AADC Annual Talks, the local advertising, design, production, and creative community gathered at the Adelaide Oval for the 45th gala dinner and awards ceremony.

After use in a television commercial in 1974, the Silver Watering Can was donated to the Club and became the Presidents’ Award for an individual or individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the growth of the Club and local industry.

This year’s recipient was Jamie Scott who, along with business partner Parris Mesidis, has been at the helm of one of Adelaide’s most successful creative ad agencies, Showpony since the pair founded the agency in 1996.

A past president who played an instrumental role in reshaping the AADC into a more professional organisation, better representing the breadth and diversity of the local industry, Jamie began his career in Young & Rubicam as a junior account executive. He now runs Showpony’s Melbourne office and is a regular Effie Juror and New York Festivals’ judge.

Along with 8 awards across multiple categories, Showpony was also awarded the Gold Chair for best overall advertising entry for its integrated campaign, See Me For Me, for the Department of Human Services and a Chair for the same campaign for best overall For Good entry.

Simple Integrated Marketing were the other big winners on the night, collecting 15 awards across numerous categories in addition to being awarded the Rita Siow Chair for most outstanding design entry for the Integrated Design, Pairs Well With for their client Penley Estate.

The Master’s Chair for the most outstanding Craft entry was awarded to David Ockenden of Proetic Productions for Direction of Showpony’s Future Jobs TVC.

Nearly 170 entries made it to Finalist status by a panel of over 75 national and international jurors.

A full list of the winners is seen below:

Simple — 15 Awards
Showpony — 8 Awards
Stephen Deeble of Visualizm — 3 Awards
Sector7g — 2 Awards
Fuller — 2 Awards
YBi Creative — 2 Awards
Scott Illingworth of Seeing Sounds — 2 Awards
Floodlight Content — 1 Award
Cul-de-sac — 1 Award
Blacksheep — 1 Award
Audio Embassy — 1 Award
David Ockenden — 1 Award
Justin Pounsett — 1 Award
KWPx — 1 Award
Richard Coburn of Direct — 1 Award
The Rowdy Group — 1 Award
Monkeystack — 1 Award

This year’s 'Student of the Year' was awarded to Sam Brown of the University of South Australia for the Craft Entry, Vigni Paci Wine Labels by Co-Chairs Kellie Campbell-Illingworth of Parallax, and Pat Parisi of Simple. Michelle Alejandra Vega Ramirez and Veronia Davila also picked up Awards in the Student category.

The AADC would like to acknowledge the continued, generous support of its team of volunteers and Club sponsors.

View the Award winners here